Tenneco-LogoTenneco is present in more than 100 markets and currently employs 24.000 people in 89 factories, 14 technical and engineering centers worldwide. The global research and development centre for ride performance is located in Sint-Truiden Belgium. The research and development office is responsible for 218 well-skilled engineers in the fields of lightweight materials, control systems, core engineering, simulation and advanced manufacturing.

ARRIVAL_Black_VerticalLockupArrival Ltd is the first commercial vehicle manufacturer in Europe to provide purpose-built electric delivery vehicles including electric vehicle design and manufacturing. Formerly known as Charge Automotive, started in January 2015 and currently employs ~300 staff. Arrival has signed a lease on a new factory in UK to produce over 50,000 vehicles a year using only artificial intelligence robots. The research and development team has the main focus on the innovations in the fields of control systems, X-by-wire systems, electric vehicle design, simulation and advanced manufacturing.

Delft-University-of-TechnologyTechnische Universiteit Delft is a national university conducting cutting-edge research and providing first-class education. With >21,500 students and academic staff of 3,300, TU Delft is the largest, and oldest, technical university in the Netherlands. Automotive research in Section of Intelligent Vehicles, Department of Cognitive Robotics (CoR) at the Faculty of Mechanical, Maritime and Materials Engineering (3mE) at TU Delft focusses on highly and fully automated driving including topics of dynamics & control, environmental perception and modelling.

PrintUniversità degli studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia (UNIMORE) has a longstanding tradition (founded in 1175) and is considered one of the best universities in Italy for teaching and research. The OWHEEL host – DIEF-Department of Engineering “Enzo Ferrari” in Modena – manages teaching (about 100 professors) and research activities (150 Ph.D., post doc positions, and researchers) in Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Automotive Engineering and Industrial Design. The synergic mixing of teaching, research, both theoretical and applied, and technology transfer led to the establishment of devoted Interdepartmental Centers and one Technology Incubator.

Logo_TU_IlmenauEstablished in 1894 the University has a strong competence in mechatronics, electric and electronic engineering, mobile communications, and nanoengineering. Automotive Engineering Group and the Thuringian Center of Innovation in Mobility (ThIMO) is the host of the network activities at TU Ilmenau. ThIMO unites 30 professors and 250 scientists and carries out industrial and public funded research in electric vehicles, intelligent transport systems, powertrains, and automotive lightweight design.

kisspng-university-of-naples-federico-ii-universityThe University of Naples Federico II (established in 1224) offers courses in essentially all academic disciplines, leading to 125 graduate level degrees. UNINA is made up of three Schools – the Polytechnical and Basic Sciences School, the School of Medicine and the School of Human and Social Sciences – and 26 Departments which operate as semi-independent bodies for the teaching and research management being anyway part of a School. The Department of Industrial Engineering (DII) is the host of the network activities at UNINA. The research activities of DII aim to contribute to the cultural, social and economic development of the territory consolidated as a reference point for the manufacturing. The affinity and contiguity of skills and knowledge of the different scientific areas within the department are confirmed by long experience of cooperation in scientific and educational research projects, university courses of study and university masters.

1024px-University_of_Surrey_Logo.svgThe University of Surrey is a modern research-led university, combining excellence in research with provision of higher education. According to the UK University League Tables, USR is a top 15 institution in the UK, on a total of more than 100 universities. USR will participate to OWHEEL with the Centre for Automotive Engineering (CAE), which is housed in the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences. Building on strong links with industry, the CAE has created a research base which currently focuses on five key areas of modern and future vehicle design: (i) powertrains (IC engines, hybrid / electric systems and transmission control systems); (ii) vehicle dynamics control and tyre dynamics; (iii) vehicle sub-systems (brakes, steering, suspension, chassis control systems); (iv) experimental test methods; and (v) vehicle aerodynamics.

220px-VGTU_seal.svgAccording to the QS Top University rankings, Vilnius Gediminas Technical University is ranked as 256 in field of Engineering and Technology. VGTU is a leading technology university in Lithuania, which strives for a top position among Baltic countries in technical and engineering education, as well as in the field of scientific research. Transport and Logistics Competence Centre is a research division of the Faculty of Transport Engineering. Main field of research is Sustainable Transport: Autonomous Vehicles; Environmentally friendly transport; Green logistics; International transport corridors; Traffic Safety.

150px-UnivOfTokyo_logo.svgThe University of Tokyo is world-wide top-ranked Japanese University founded in 1877 and known first as Tokyo Imperial University. The Department of Advanced Energy is located on the new Kashiwa Campus with the large-scale research facilities and mainly oriented on the graduate course students and applied research. The Hori-Fujimoto laboratory is a renowned laboratory with the main activities in fields of: Electric Vehicles (EVs), Wireless Power Transfer, Human Friendly Motion Control, and Nano-Scale Servo systems.

Logo_University_of_PretoriaThe University of Pretoria was founded in 1908. It is the largest residential university in South Africa with around 50 000 students in 9 Faculties. The Mechanical Engineering department is the largest in South Africa with 1400 students (of which 200 are post-graduate) and produces about a quarter of the country’s mechanical engineers. The department has strong research activities in thermofluids, dynamics and vibration as well as vehicle dynamics.

logo_utcEstablished in 1973 as the first technological university in France, UTC introduce a new concept of the engineers formation in France, strongly based on three points: engineers formation, scientific research and industrial technology transfer. The international relations is a principal characteristic of UTC (with a campus in Shangai, and representations in many countries). It has recently received two excellence labels (LABEX and EQUIPEX) from the French government, with the projects MS2T (Control of Technological System of Systems) and Robotex. UTC has 3 CNRS laboratories: Mécanique Acoustique et Matériaux (Roberval) – UMR 7337; Heuristique et Diagnostic des Systèmes Complexes (Heudiasyc)-UMR 7253; BioMécanique et BioIngénierie (BMBI) – UMR 7338. The HEUDIASYC laboratory, where this project will be executed, with many CNRS researchers and UTC professors, develops a great part of its research at the theme : Automation, Embedded Systems and Robotics.